✔️ Updated July 2026.
A Blogger profile will be created when you access www.blogger.com for the first time and create a blog or when you decide to comment on a blog hosted on Blogger that requires signing in to Google. You have the option to use any username and photo, not necessarily the same ones as your Google account.
A Blogger profile is part of your Google account, but they are not equivalent.
The profile contains:
- Blogs and posts.
- Comments made on any Blogger site.
- Multimedia such as videos.
Deleting the profile is a permanent process that cannot be reversed, and the system prevents it from being done by accident. It is not recommended to test this process to see how it works.
How to delete a Blogger profile:
There are three ways to start the process:
- When editing the profile [https://www.blogger.com/profile/edit], at the bottom of the page you will see the option Delete Blogger data & profile.
- When using the Blogger app (where it is available for download), when you click on the profile picture (top right corner), there is the option Delete profile.
- Going to Google Account > Data & privacy [https://myaccount.google.com/data-and-privacy], scroll until you find Tools > Remove data from services you no longer use.
Any of the three routes will request that you enter your account password again or the preferred security method on your device to confirm that you are the owner of the Google account. This step prevents anyone who has access to your device (children, relatives, coworkers) from completing this process without your knowledge.
On the next page, choose Blogger again by clicking on the trash can icon.
The system will open a window showing all the consequences of deleting a Blogger profile, listed below:
Delete your Blogger dataThe following permanent actions will be performed for your account [youremail@gmail.com]:
- Blogs for which you are currently the sole admin will be deleted
- Exception: Images uploaded to the blog will not be deleted
- Posts you have authored and have permission to delete will be deleted
- Exception: If you have lost access to the blog in question, your name will be removed from the post but the post will not be deleted
- Videos you have uploaded to any blog will be deleted (even if you aren't the sole owner)
- Your Blogger profile page will be deleted
- Comments posted with this account on any blog will be deleted
- Your Blogger reading list will be deleted
And to finish, you must check the box in that window that clearly explains that the process is permanent.
- Required: Yes, I understand that this will permanently delete my Blogger data and that this action can't be undone
If you want to create a new Blogger profile, the system will not allow this action immediately, thus you will see the following message:
A new Blogger profile can't be created because your previous Blogger profile has just been deleted. Please try again later.
It is necessary to wait a couple of hours, or even days, until the action becomes available.
This also means that you will have to start from scratch, there is no way to recover information from the previous profile.
Extra notes
* It is worth noting that if you are the only person managing one or more blogs, the blogspot.com URL(s) will also be permanently deleted. Neither you with a new profile nor other Blogger users can reuse it under any circumstances.
If your goal is to start from scratch and keep the blogspot.com URL(s) to create new content with a new profile, it is recommended to:
- Transfer the blog to another trusted or own Google account BEFORE you begin removing your profile. This is a temporary measure until you can create a new profile.
- Delete content like posts and pages, leaving the site empty, without having to delete the profile and the entire blog / URL with it.
Or, if you are looking to keep your profile and content hidden, without losing access to them for future use, the following is recommended:
- Visit https://www.blogger.com/profile/edit and under the Privacy and Identity section, turn off the toggle (click to make it gray) next to Share my profile.
- Keep the blog private, with access only granted to you as an administrator or to people of your choice.